Gamble Colorado

Peyton Manning Elected to Hall of Fame

Peyton Manning Broncos

The National Football League officially announced the 2021 Hall of Fame class on Saturday night, and Peyton Manning was included in the list of honorees.

This honor has been expected for Manning ever since he played his final season in the NFL in 2015.

There were eight players chosen for the 2021 Hall of Fame class, with Charles Woodson and Calvin Johnson joining Manning as the headliners. Manning spent the final years of his career with the Denver Broncos, but he will be most remembered for his time with the Indianapolis Colts.

The list of awards and recognitions for Manning is immense, but his greatest achievement in the NFL is winning a Super Bowl with two different franchises. After leading the Colts to a Super Bowl victory, Manning was able to transform the Broncos franchise and return it to glory.


Up To $500 2nd Chance Bet

Ages 21+ | T&C's apply

Get BonusGet Bonus
Ages 21+ | T&C's apply

During his career, he was named to the Pro Bowl 14 times, won five MVP Awards, and also won an Offensive Rookie of the Year and Comeback Player of the Year Award. After it seemed like his career was over, Manning was able to rehab and return to the field to carry the Broncos offense.

Manning joined the Broncos in 2012 after leading the Colts to at least 10 wins in 11 different seasons. After winning the Super Bowl MVP award in Super Bowl XLI, Manning was looking for one final run at the title with the Broncos.

During his four-year stint with the Broncos, he led the team to 50 total wins and four straight AFC West Division titles. After leading Denver to the Super Bowl 50 championship, Manning retired, ending one of the best careers in NFL history.

During the 2013 season, Manning threw for 5,477 yards and 55 touchdowns to set new NFL records. At the time of his retirement, Manning held several single-season and career passing records.

The 2021 NFL Hall of Fame weekend will also honor the 2020 class after last year’s event was canceled.

Jokic Named Athlete of the Year

The Colorado Sports Hall of Fame has announced its 2020 Athlete of the Year Award recipient. Denver Nuggets center Nikola Jokic won the award in 2020 after leading the team to an improbable and impressive run during the 2020 NBA Playoffs.

Jokic will be honored on Sept. 29 at the 56th annual Colorado Sports Hall of Fame induction ceremony. Tickets for the event will go on sale soon, and this year’s event will also honor the 2020 finalists and award winner.

“The Joker” led the Nuggets to the Western Conference Finals in 2020 as the team pulled off a pair of comebacks in the first two rounds. Denver ultimately lost to the Los Angeles Lakers, but the playoff run captivated the sports fans in Colorado amidst the pandemic.

There were no other professional athletes named as finalists for this award, but that is typically the case. High school and college events are also considered for this award, but the accomplishments of Jokic and his Nuggets teammates were too much to ignore.

Why not check back for more Colorado sports betting news, free bet offers, and CO sportsbooks updates.

Relevant news